Need An Injury Attorney Arkansas – DUI
Being arrested and charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance comes with severe punishments. In addition to possible jail time, you can lose your license, pay heavy court fees and fines, and large insurance increases. Arkansas primarily issues DWI (driving while intoxicated) charges as both a misdemeanor and a felony. The felony charge will be issued if you were driving recklessly, speeding, having children in the car, crashed into another vehicle or property, or after your 3rd DWI conviction. Felony charges come with steeper fines, up to $5,000. Also, there is the possibility of up to 6 years in jail for a felony DWI. Don’t think that the courts will be lenient on a first offense misdemeanor DWI charge. In an effort to curb the dangers of the road and to set an example for other drivers, judges and prosecutors are seeking the maximum punishments for DWI charges and enforcing the mandatory minimum jail sentences.
The best chance you have to fight the charges is to hire a skilled attorney who specializes in DWI and DUI cases. These are complex charges that require the defendant to make several court appearances as well as a separate hearing to retain driving privileges. Hiring an attorney can help sort out the mess of paperwork and is the best way to keep your driving privileges and lessen the charges.
When you take your case to the attorneys of Needaninjuryattorneyarkansas.com, you will be greeted with a professional who understands the nuances of these charges. We know there are two sides to every story and we want to hear yours. Many times, we have found ways to beat the charges such as checking the breathalyzer used at the time and finding it was incorrectly calibrated. Other times we have seen the arresting police officer violate the defendant’s Constitutional rights. You do not have to submit to a field sobriety test and you do not have to speak to the police in a way that would admit guilt until you have an attorney present to advise you.
While building your case we will prepare you for all options and possibilities ahead. If you need to seek rehabilitation treatment we can help that happen. It is a good note for your case. If you believe these charges were brought against you falsely then we will call upon witnesses to attest to your character. Entering the courtroom without a skilled attorney at your side who has a solid plan of defense is like asking for the maximum punishments to be levied.
It is also important to know that Arkansas enforces BWI (boating while intoxicated) charges. These are identical to driving in the eyes of the court and are still a matter best handled by a professional attorney.
If you or a family member has been charged with a DUI or DWI or BWI in Arkansas then please contact the attorneys of Needaninjuryattorneyarkansas.com for a free consultation. Any information you provide us will remain confidential.